2018 Conference Coordinators

Screen Shot 2016-09-22 at 11.38.43 AM.png

Nicholas Hirshon, William Paterson University

Nicholas Hirshon, the conference’s representative for the AEJMC History Division, is an assistant professor of communication at William Paterson University in New Jersey. Dr. Hirshon received his Ph.D. from Ohio University. He teaches undergraduate courses in reporting and research methods, and he is the faculty adviser of the campus chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Previously, Hirshon was a reporter for six years for the New York Daily News, and his work also appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Hockey News. He has published two books, Images of America: Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum (2010) and Images of America: Forest Hills (2013), and he is currently working on his third book, We Want Fish Sticks! Furor, Fraud, and the Frozen-Dinner Logo of the New York Islanders, to be published by the University of Nebraska Press in 2019.



Pamela Walck, Duquesne University

Pamela Walck, the conference’s representative for the American Journalism Historians Association, is an assistant professor of multiplatform journalism at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh. Dr. Walck received her Ph.D. from Ohio University. Previously, Walck was an award-winning journalist in two states while spending 16 years in the newspaper industry. She worked in a variety of positions from general assignment reporter and beat reporter to editor and writing coach. Among her award-winning stories for the Savannah Morning News were a two-part series on female veterans that examined what it means to be a veteran and a three-part series examining post-traumatic stress disorder and the problems plaguing the U.S. Army’s Warrior Transition Units following the 2007 Walter Reed Medical Center scandal.


Executive Board of the Joint Journalism History Conference

Screen Shot 2016-09-22 at 11.44.46 AM.png

Brooke Kroeger, New York University

Brooke Kroeger, co-coordinator and AJHA Representative, is a professor of journalism at New York University. Professor Kroeger directs NYU Journalism’s graduate Global and Joint Program Studies. She was department chair from 2005 to 2011 and the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute’s inaugural director. Her forthcoming book, The Suffragents, will be published in 2017. She is also the author of Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (2012), Passing: When People Can’t Be Who They Are (2003), Fannie: The Talent for Success of Writer Fannie Hurst (1999), and Nellie Bly: Daredevil, Reporter, Feminist (1994).



Carolyn Edy, Appalachian State University

Carolyn Edy is a professor of journalism and Chapter Adviser for the Society of Professional Journalists at Appalachian State University. Dr. Edy received her Ph.D. from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She teaches Introduction to Journalism, Feature Writing, Copy Edition, News Reporting and Writing, and Intercultural Communication.   



Jennifer E. Moore, University of Minnesota Duluth

Jennifer E. Moore is a professor of journalism at the University of Minnesota Duluth. She received her Ph.D. from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Moore currently teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in Journalism and Mass Communication, including: Convergence and Digital Journalism, Journalism History, and Mass Media Ethics.

Prior to her work in academia, Dr. Moore worked in radio reporting, marketing and promotion. In addition to her work with JJCHC, Dr. Moore is also the treasurer for the steering committee of the Symposium on the 19th Century Press, the Civil War, and Free Expression, held annually at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.


elliot king

Elliot King, Loyola University Maryland

Elliot King is a professor and chair of the Department of Communications at Loyola University. He is also the co-founder of the Emerging Media M.A. program at Loyola. His specializations include: media culture and society, digital culture, and travel reporting. Dr. King received his Masters in Journalism at Columbia University and his Ph.D. in Media Sociology from the University of California.

In his free time, Dr. King has written Best Practices in Online Program Development and maintains his blog University5dot0.com on issues facing higher education from online education.


Kevin Lerner, Marist College 

Kevin Lerner received his Ph.D. in Journalism and Media Studies from Rutgers University. He is currently a journalism professor at Marist College. Dr. Lerner teaches the History of the American Press, Mass Communication Law, and reporting and writing classes. In 2000, he became the first web editor of Architectural Record magazine, and was part of the team that won the 2003 National Magazine Award for General Excellence for the magazine’s coverage of the rebuilding of the World Trade Center site. He has published freelance journalism in Slate, The New York Times, New York magazine and the Nieman Journalism Lab.